My Easter Skirt (plus a knit shirt)

IMG_4383

Remember when I cut out the princess’s dress and I had a crazy diagram to fit all the pieces in?  That’s because I cut out all the pieces for this too.  And I love the finished product.  Everything went according to plan, except for one little detail.  I cut the lining as a rectangle, the size of my waist.  Forgot to factor in the hips… So I had to slit the lining in the back… It now looks like this inside.

IMG_4388  Which is fine, and it actually looks nicely finished  I also decided to a rolled hem with overcasting stitch on the seersucker, and I like it.  Nice and subtle.  And simple.

IMG_4385

And last  but not least, the zipper.  I shortened it in the back, and attached it all the way to the top, with the side tape running up and over the waistband so I wouldn’t need any hooks or snaps above the zipper.  I love how it turned out, too.

IMG_4386

Basically, the skirt is just a bunch of rectangles with four big inverted box pleats.  So easy, and so adorable!

I also made this cute little shirt.

IMG_4396

It was going to be for big mister, but it looked too girly.  And then it was too big on princess.  So Mommy got it!

IMG_4413

And I actually REALLY love it!  I’m wearing it right now.

Only one flaw, but no one will notice…

IMG_4414

Because knit is HARD to work with, even when you pin it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

