Project Run and Play Flutter Dress

When I first saw this months Project Run and Play challenge, this pattern by Melanie from Crafty Cupboard, I almost passed it by.

https://ropporiginals.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/28f02-summer2bchevrons2bshirt2bby2bthe2bcrafty2bcupboard_thumb5b65d.jpg?w=788

The princess did not like the elastic all the way around the waist, and she thought the whole design looked too “babyish”.  But the more I looked at those adorable flutter sleeves, I knew I really wanted to try this out of a beautiful flowing purple knit that I had in my stash.

Because I was using knit instead of a woven cotton, I cut the pattern two sizes smaller than I would normally need, and I left out the button placket in the back.  This change makes it so that she can put it on and off without assistance.  (A huge plus in my book!)

With help from the princess, we decided to lengthen the yoke, turn it into a dress instead of a shirt, and add the decorative trim at the intersection of the yoke and the body instead of across the front of the yoke. We made the sleeves a bit longer for extra gathering, and we also decided not to hem the sleeves since this knit doesn’t unravel and the pinked edges were so soft and fluttery.

IMG_6020

I topstitched in white around the armhole, as well as two rows around the neck opening, to try to prevent the knit from stretching.  It adds a nice finished look.

I used a fleece bias tape inside the arm hole, since the princess really liked how soft it was, and I used the same for the trim across the back of the top.  I added pink poms to the trim across the front.

IMG_6025

Additionally, I created a slightly longer length in the back of the dress (it is hard to see in the photo, i think part of it got caught on the wood) and I left it unhemmed to match the pinked edges of the flutter sleeves.

I apologize for the lack of “in process” photos, but this weekend we were in and out of the house so much I stole a few minutes here and there when I had the chance and didn’t even THINK to take pictures.

Anyway, here are the photos of the princess in her new super comfy dress.

IMG_6042 IMG_6046 IMG_6047 IMG_6050 IMG_6052 IMG_6059

7 thoughts on “Project Run and Play Flutter Dress

  1. Nice job creating a look that is a bit “older.” I like your design change to create that longer yoke. Just like last time, your overall enthusiasm that shines in your posts just makes me smile.
    Deborah Devine @Sew Much to Give

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

