Project Run and Play Elastic Waist Flutter Dress

This pattern from Melanie at Crafty Cupboard is just too easy and fun to work with!  Once I figured out how to narrow the neck to get the proper fit, and raise the arm holes a bit, I have a pretty awesome go-to pattern on my hands.  I already used it to make this dress… IMG_6047  And this shirt… IMG_6297

But I had to make one more before the deadline, because I hadn’t tried the elastic waist yet.

I decided to forego the yoke, so I taped the yoke and body pattern pieces together, overlapping the seam allowance.  I wanted to add a skirt, so I cut the pieces with super wide sides to create princess gathers, an effect I have had in my mind for a while that I wanted to try.  This beautiful polyester challis was the perfect fluttery fabric for this project!

IMG_6317

When I cut the sleeves. I cut four instead of two so that I could line them since the back side of the challis is unprinted.  I was planning to do the sleeves as flutters since the princess and I loved them so much on the other projects, but when I played with them, I fell in love with the little tulip cap sleeves.

IMG_6318IMG_6319

The cute little overlap is in the armpit, so it will likely never be seen, but I still love it.

IMG_6320 IMG_6397

Then I did the princess gathers.  This was so fun and easy!  I just ran a gathering stitch up the side seam and pulled into the longer portion of the skirt was the same length as the middle.  I then tacked it down with a permanent stitch.  Voila!  Adorable and super unique!

IMG_6396

Then it was on to the elastic waistband.  Just as Melanie’s tutorial directed, and it was so easy and it looks just perfect from the outside.

IMG_6391

And perfect on the inside too!

IMG_6392

Finally, I put in the hem, double rolled with an overcasting stitch.

IMG_6393

But, the bobbin ran out during the hem, and by the time I remembered I hadn’t finished, the princess was asleep for the night.  I guess photos of her in the dress will have to come tomorrow morning.  I know it fits, though, because she tried it on just before I did the hem.  I can’t wait to show you how cute it is on her!

Until then, here it is hanging up.  It looks a little weird because the sides are heavy and pull the waist down.

IMG_6394

The princess has hips, so it sits straight on her, kind of like this.

IMG_6398

ETA to add the link to the photos of the princess wearing it.

IMG_6409

4 thoughts on “Project Run and Play Elastic Waist Flutter Dress

    • Thanks. I just kept being inspired by the simplicity of the pattern. So much possibility. It’s rare to find a free pattern that is appropriate for older kids, I think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

