Halloween Dragon Costume

IMG_0602

So I’ll start by saying I’m sorry for the photos- I forgot to turn the watermark off for these.  That said, let me tell you about Little Mister’s Halloween costume.

He told me he wanted to be a fire dragon, so I immediately knew I wanted to create some amazing wings, so that was how the costume started.  With the wings.  I got a great deal on some BRIGHT orange ponte knit and supplemented a bit of red organza.  Other than that, all I needed was LOTS of thread.

IMG_0603 IMG_0604

I ended up doing less stitching than I intended on teh wings, because I loved how the stitching at the tops and bottoms of the organza webbing looked, I was afraid to do more.  I stuffed the orange ribs with scraps of fabric left over from cutting out the pieces.

IMG_0605

The chest panel was two layers of organza over a knit base, with a knit “frame” over the edges.  Probably more work than it needed to be, but I had the material, and it turned out cute.

IMG_0607

IMG_0609

Now, the hood was a bit of a nightmare!  Getting the ridge with the point in the front out of knit was just not meant to be.  But I was DETERMINED, so I enlisted pipe cleaners and bias trim and finally got something I liked.  Seeing as I didn’t have a pattern, I was totally winging it every step of the way.  (Get it, WING?  Oh boy, I need more sleep)

IMG_0612

He only agreed to photos if I used the splatter paint backdrop, so we went with it.  He loved swinging his stuffed tail (it has a pillow in it) back and forth.

IMG_0616 IMG_0617 IMG_0620 IMG_0623 IMG_0624 IMG_0625

Then I convinced him to let me take some serious photos.

IMG_0632 IMG_0638 IMG_0644

And then he just got adorably goofy.

IMG_0648 IMG_0650

Best Halloween Costume EVER!!!!  (Even if it did take upwards of fifteen hours to design and make!)

One thought on “Halloween Dragon Costume

Leave a Reply

