Ariel Inspired Outfit

This weeks assignment at Project Run and Play was to create an outfit inspired by Cosplay, which, if you know me at all, you know is my very favorite way to design clothes.  That, in the end, turned out to be a problem.  I had WAY TOO MANY ideas!  Narrowing it down was a nightmare!  Finally, with my daughter’s help, we settled on an Ariel inspired design.  We strayed from our original plan quite a bit, and we barely got it done in time, but here you have it- a tunic that can be worn with leggings or pants or another skirt, a solid teal rectangle skirt to wear alone or layered, and the scale inspired scallop overlay.

I don’t have the time or energy to explain what I did or how I did it.  If it could go wrong, it probably DID go wrong, but all in all, we love the finished product.  She’ll likely wear the overlay with a sheath dress for Easter, and the other two pieces will probably be worn together, although I suspect the comfy tunic will get the most use.

Here is the overlay.  I wanted more of an ombre effect, but you only really get that if the light shines through it.  I do think I achieved the graded scallop effect well- bigger scallops on the bottom getting smaller as you go up the skirt.

Here are some close-ups on the skirts.  I attempted a scallop stitch, but the fabric was too heavy.  I suspected it might be, but I wanted to try anyway.  I like using it for the hem, though.  I used a three stitch zig-zag to attach fold over elastic on teh arm holes, and to create the sweetheart neckline.  I debated and debated about using green or purple thread- what do you think?  Did I make the right choice?

 

Finally, some shots without the overlay, so you can see the tunic “tail”.  I apologize for the green skirt hanging funny, I need to adjust the waist, but the sun was rapidly setting and I had to get the pictures a smidge before it was completed…

Here is my princess posing as Ariel… and playing with the hanging “bubbles”.

I hope you enjoyed this as much as my princess and I!

ariel-5.jpg

2 thoughts on “Ariel Inspired Outfit

Leave a Reply

