Easter Sewing

This year’s Easter clothing started with a dress for Sis, cut from a vintage 1950’s pattern.  It was a women’s dress, so it is a bit big, but I added elastic in the waist and decorated it with a bow and it’s just the right mix of classy and not quite grown up yet.  🙂  Plus, the teal crinoline helps.  🙂

The best part is that because she is so skinny, it goes on and off without needing the zipper.  One less headache for Momma!  (I HATE zippers…)  See, front, side and back, NO ZIPPER!  Woohoo!

easter dress-6easter dress-5easter dress-4

Here she is with her new big girl Easter basket, too.  You can’t go wrong with Bambi.

easter-7

And no dress is complete until it has passed the park test…

easter park-3

Next up on the sewing agenda was the boys.  I bought the Cape Cod pattern from Peek-a-boo patterns, and it was the best decision I could have made!

First I did Big Mister’s.  Out of the same fabric I did his Easter basket… He loved that print so much, and it coordinated with the princess’s dress.

easter-6

Park approved along with Sis’s dress.

Next up was a miniature Cape Cod.  The little mister LOVES patterns and colors, so we had a lot of fun choosing fabrics for this one…

We never did get a studio shoot of him, because the minute it was done, it NEEDED to be park tested.  It’s a thing in our house.  New clothes= park test.  He knows the drill…  LOL

And with his new homemade Easter basket.  Remember, he likes loud patterns?

easter-5

With the kids’ clothes done and time to spare, I decided why not make myself a new suit?

I busted out my trusty Piper Pencil Skirt pattern from Peek-a-boo patterns and made a few changes.  I used the encased elastic waistband, but I only put the elastic in the back, and I cut the bottom two sizes narrower and then added a pleated kick piece in the back.

easter-1

Then I went crazy and made a jacket to go with it.  I have no idea how I got so lucky that something wearable turned out.  I was making it up as I went and problem solving on the fly, and if you look close, there are a LOT of problems, but I suspect I can perfect the process over time.  I’m learning to love using knit!!!!

And yes, these photos are awkward.  I was barely awake and my son was taking them, thus the odd angle…

On the back of the jacket, I added a pleated him-peplum.  It is nothing like what I intended it to look like, but it is really cute.  I call it my “tail coat”.  LOL.  And pardon the shirt seam across the booty.  I have a pair of spanx that I will tuck the shirt in to next time!

easter-3

But seriously, aren’t those pleats SO MUCH FUN!!!!

Anyway, after that was done I bought Daddy a blue shirt and forced everyone to get a family picture…

easter-9

Momma loves you babies, and I am so proud of how much you’ve grown and changed since last Easter!

IMG_4250

 

Leave a Reply

