Just a Little Quirky

In deciding on my signature look, it didn’t take much effort.  I LOVE the fun and quirky looks that children can get away with, and I love that my kids, even at the ages of 6, 11, and 12 still enjoy the personality filled pieces that I create.

So these outfits were inspired by a Riley Blake print that I used as the base fabric.  In particular, I modeled my daughter’s dress after this cute little pixie.

img_7599-2

Since my daughter is “anti-pink”, I moved the red from the skirt to the bodice and used the pixie print (it’s quilting cotton) for the skirt.  I fell in love with the Riley Blake zig zag for the striped leggings, and the Riley Blake polka dot was perfect for the hat/hood.

So once I had the fabrics chosen, it was off to find the perfect pattern.  The Tatum Twirl Dress by Peek-a-Boo was the perfect choice!  The only changes I made was shortening the skirt a little, and using a little more width on the skirt, and pointing the hood/adding the pink pom.  (See, I snuck some pink in the finished product.  LOL.)

Next up was the little mister’s coordinating shirt.  If possible, I love this one even more!

img_7384img_7599img_7601

The same fabrics were used, and the pattern I used was PAB- The Halfpipe Hoodie, the only change was modifying the hood.

Lastly, I made my middle child a shirt using the stars that I lined my daughter’s hood with, and a snowman print (also Riley Blake!) that he liked that coordinated color wise with the pixie fabric.  It was the Varsity Cowl Neck by Peekaboo Patterns, but I ran out of fabric for the sleeves, and ended up with quirky 3/4 length sleeves.

img_7597

Oh my gosh, I JUST noticed the snowmen are upside down on the bottom band!  Ack!!!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my signature look!

img_7612img_7624img_7637img_7647

(If you are interested, I am offering these versions of the Halfpipe and Tatum Twirl for sale this Christmas… email sabrinaropp@ropps.net for more information.)

img_7396

 

4 thoughts on “Just a Little Quirky

Leave a Reply

